The Music And The Mirror

I should be doing school work. Just thought I should get that out of the way. This balance of school plus work plus event prep plus yoga plus sanity . . . well, it’s teetering. I’ve got a lot of health stuff to figure out, too. Holding onto the light at the end of the tunnel . . .

Anyhow, even with all of this going on, it feels like something is missing. I’m sure a lot of things are missing, but there’s one thing I’ve been able to pin down.

I’ve never been good at expressing my emotions, and I’m still not very good at it. I’m currently battling with my brain over many things, but this week’s focus is dissociation. I’ve recently realized that I spend most of my life “not really there”. It’s easier that way, it keeps me detached, and feeling safe. It also keeps me disconnected from the rest of the world, which leads to a lot of loneliness. Trying to break that pattern is really hard. It’s exhausting trying to “stay in”, and my brain goes places I don’t want it to. It’s also picked up a new trick or two to keep me away. Sneaky bastard.

But in terms of expression, the only way I’ve ever been able to come close is through music. Dancing is a great expressive outlet, but I’m too focused on technique to fully let go. Singing, I can pretend to be someone else, and using someone else’s words, tell the world my darkest secrets. I miss it. I haven’t really sung for about 18 months now, since “retiring” from musical theatre.

Lately, though, I’ve found myself singing when I close the store (it’s the only place I have where nobody can hear me). While my deteriorating vocal technique stresses me out, the ability to belt at the top of my lungs feels amazing. I’m not a sobber, I’m not a yeller. I’m not good at attaching sound to emotion, but in singing, I do what I can’t do anywhere else.

Sometimes I wish I lived in a musical. Therapy would be so much easier if I could answer  “. . . and how do you feel about that” with a song. It’ll tell you more than my words ever will.

6 Comments

Filed under Blatherings

6 responses to “The Music And The Mirror

  1. Melissa

    You should totally answer questions with a song in therapy. I’m sure WGT would totally be down with it.

  2. There must be something in the air, my friend…I’ve been drawn to music all my life and my soundtrack right now is from the Queen of Soul herself, Ms. Aretha Franklin. Ironic that my car, a Kia Soul is called Aretha? I think not. *hugs*

  3. Yes, yes, yes, and yes. Life needs to be more like a musical. (Next to Normal, anyone?) Singing really is some of the best possible therapy out there. Keep belting, friend!

    • I firmly believe that Next to Normal was written for me, not Alice Ripley (although she’s got enough cray-cray to go around). If I ever un-retire, it’ll be at that age for that show.

Leave a Reply

