Ground Yourself

Hello, friends!

Apologies again for the lack of posting lately. I’ve been a little on the busy side. In addition to school and work and life and recovery, I signed onto the board of a new not-for-profit organization that I really believe in. If you’ll indulge a little company promotion, I’ll tell you a little bit more about it now.

Yoga Unite was founded by Chantal Wade, a psychotherapist, yoga teacher, and all-round lovely human being. She wanted to find a way to use yoga to promote awareness and change, and bridge gaps she saw in various communities in Toronto. Yoga Unite uses yoga-based events (think karma yoga to the max) to raise funds and awareness for various charities. It’s all about creating a sense of community, support, and hope.

I went to the first event this summer, which raised funds for AIDS Community Toronto, and was so touched by the amazing feeling of, well, community. Everyone was practicing yoga together to make the world a better place. Afterwards, I asked Chantal, “Have you thought of doing an event for eating disorders?” (I had opened up to her last year about my struggles after a particularly emotionally rough yoga class).

A few months later, she messaged me. The next event was going to be raising funds for Sheena’s Place, an eating disorder support centre in Toronto. Did I want to speak at the event?

Okay. So I talk about a lot of things here that are pretty personal. But this is a pretty anonymous blog. I’ve never spoken publicly, as myself, about anything related to my own struggles in life. Even in support groups, I tend to speak more in generalities (“cryptic”, they call me). This would be a chance to get REALLY personal and REALLY public and REALLY uncomfortable. I accepted.

So now the event is looming, in less than 3 weeks. I’ve written a draft of my speech, but will probably make many changes before the event. I’m really nervous, but really excited about it as well.

So here’s where you come in. I need 3 things from you, my loyal readers:

  1. Emotional support. Send me many good vibes on November 3rd. Given my new “I actually have emotions” emotional state, I’ll probably be a bit of a weepy mess.
  2. Your presence. If you’re in the Toronto area, and can even just lie on a yoga mat, come on down and register for the event. There is a yoga class taught by 4 of Toronto’s top yoga teachers, an art show, a silent auction, refreshments, and massages after the class. Plus, you’ll get to hear me speak (and watch me cry).
  3. Your financial support. We’re raising money for Sheena’s Place, a place that was very important in my recovery. It’s the only centre in Toronto that offers free support for everyone affected by eating disorders. Last year, I raised $2645 for the Toronto NEDA Walk. This year, I’ve set a more modest goal of $500. I’m at $150 so far, and even $5 can do a lot. If you would like to donate, please follow this link. Make sure you let me know about your donation so I can keep track of my total, AND so I can devote a yoga class to sending you positive energy. I hope to be sending good vibes for the next year . . .

Thanks for taking the time to read. I hope to see you all there. For those of you who can’t attend, I’ll post a copy of my speech here after the event. Namaste.

12 Comments

Filed under Blatherings

12 responses to “Ground Yourself

  1. Go you!! This is awesome!

  2. Ryan

    This is amazing Kelly! I wish I could come see you. I’m going to let my friends in Toronto know about this, if they don’t already. I can’t wait to read your speech. I know you’ll be great, and I’ll be sending you lots of positive thoughts. I’ll be there in spirit 🙂
    I think you are so brave for being willing to share your story. I’m pretty cryptic myself, so I know it isn’t easy to do something like this, but your story will definitely help and inspire people.

  3. Omigosh, Kelly! That’s so exciting! I LOVE that you’re putting yourself out there (and that you’re doing so incredible service as a result)! If I weren’t so far from Toronto, I’d be there to hang out on a yoga mat 🙂

    Either way, I’ll be sending you positive vibes from Silicon Valley! I hope that you have an amazing time, and I can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  4. Lynda

    Hi Kelly:

    Want to make a donation but link isn’t working. Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Lynda

  5. Lynda

    PS. Note the new email

  6. Pingback: A Little More on Saturday . . . | Be Anything But Quiet!

Leave a Reply

