The Turkey and The Stuffing

Yep. It’s a song title. From the lovely Susan Egan‘s Winter Tracks. Because in the US of A, Thanksgiving happens in the winter. Well, almost. It usually snows though. Unless you live in a warmer state. Sometimes it falls on my birthday . . .

Anyhow.

This weekend marks Canadian Thanksgiving. I was going to write a post bitching about holidays, but then I realized I’d already done that last year. Last year, I also wrote what I was thankful for. That list still applies, but it’s a nice time to look back and be thankful for all the things that have changed.

  1. My job. In one week, it will mark a year since I started working at the health food store. At the time, it was just a way to pay the bills and get out of the house a couple of days a week. Little did I know it would lead me to discovering my new career path.
  2. School. New friends, a new career to pursue, and new knowledge. I’ve always liked school, and it kind of feels like coming home. I didn’t realize it, but my brain had been aching for a workout. Intellectual fulfilment is important to me, and now I know it.
  3. Career prospects. After leaving acting, I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life. I remember last summer, hanging out with some lovely friends reading tarot cards (yep, tarot cards), I asked what I should do with my life. They essentially told me that I should let go of rigidity and stop searching for something to fulfil me, that the answer would come from finding myself and figuring out my passion. It did.
  4. A chance to give back.  For those of you who don’t know me personally (because those who do know me have DEFINITELY heard about it by now), I was just honored with the opportunity to join the board of directors for a charity I very much believe in. I’ll be telling you all more about it in an upcoming post.
  5. The tough stuff. This year, I’ve learned a lot about myself. It’s been really hard. Part of me wishes I could go back to not knowing. But everything I’ve learned has taught me something, and (hopefully) will be an important tool in making recovery stick this time. “The more you know . . . ” right?
  6. People. It’s been hard learning to let people in, and I’m still not very good at it, but I think it’s worth it . . . I think . . . I hope. But I think people and relationships are what it’s all about, yes? I mean, people can hurt us more than anything else, so doesn’t it make sense that they can heal us more than anything else?

Here’s one of my favorite people. He makes me smile and reminds me why life is good. Ladies and gentlemen, once again, my godson Liam:

He knows how to rock the sandy look, yes?

Happy Thanksgiving to all, regardless of where you call home. What are you thankful for today?

8 Comments

Filed under Blatherings

8 responses to “The Turkey and The Stuffing

  1. I love this list. So many good things that come from letting go and embracing your self-awareness. I’m excited to hear more about the charity you’re working with–service is such a hugely important piece of recovery…I just found the eating disorder resource center here in California, and it’s amazing how amazing it feels to volunteer…

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    • Thanks! I think you of all people will enjoy the charity. Another reason for you to come to Toronto . . . lol. Glad you’ve found a place, too. xo

  2. Melissa

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Things I am thankful for (in no particular order)
    1. Being less crazy. Sometimes I stop and look at what my life is like….and I want to cry. Not because it is bad but because it is so good (this is so cheesy). I never thought life could be this good. I always thought that some variation of bad was all that was in the cards for me. Apparently I was aiming too low. I’m amazed at how whole and fulfilling my life feels.
    2. Health. So my body could be happier with me at the moment. I don’t blame it. But I’m thankful for its resiliency and I am going to honour that by treating it nicely. Also I’m back in the working world and I’ve started doing my BSW online. If I didn’t have my health I wouldn’t be able to do that.
    3. Friends/professionals. I would not have survived last year without some key people in my life. I’m not sure why they stuck around. I will never be able to express how truly grateful I am for their presence in my life and the life changing impact they had.
    4. Unemployment/OMERS. I took my unemployment as an opportunity to throw myself into getting better. I cashed in my pension to pay for therapy. Not the smartest for retirement planning but now I know I will be around long enough to retire. Yay life!

    • Kelly

      I love this! Congratulations on all your hard work. Remember how hard/thrilling birthday lattes were last year? This year, our birthdays are going to be SO much better

  3. Andrea Ahlers

    I’m thankful for you, and your courage. You also inspired me to start my own blog. So, yay you!

Leave a Reply

