School Again! School Again! School Again!

(For those of you who went to theatre school with me: insert presentational arm choreography as needed)

I know I’ve been a little MIA of late. The reasons are twofold. The first:

I’M BACK IN SCHOOL!

Monday marked my 21st first day of school. I’m studying Holistic Nutrition now (not musical theatre anymore) and absolutely love it. Less than 18 months ago, I would have a panic attack after 10 minutes of discussing food with WGT, and now I’m in 4 hour lectures discussing fats, carbs, sugar, and all that scary stuff in detail. And it’s amazing. There’s so much I don’t know about food, and every inch of it fascinates me. It’s going to be a fine line, as they keep referencing “the benefits of fasting” in passing, but I’ve just gotta take everything with a grain of sea salt.

The second:

Sometimes, keeping things quiet is restricting your voice. Sometimes, it’s because you just can’t talk about things until you’ve figured them out for yourself. And some things are just private (although more people now know the details of my menstrual cycle now than I ever thought possible). I’ve got a lot going on in my private life right now, and until I figure it all out, that’s where it will stay.

In summation, the blogs will be sparse for the next little while. Balancing school with full-time work (and an early morning yoga practice – more details to follow) means I’ll be doing a whole lot of reading, and not much writing (apart from homework). I won’t disappear forever, tho. You’ll still get TMI as much as I can. I’ve got a lot to say, and the world’s gonna hear it from now on!

5 Comments

Filed under Blatherings

5 responses to “School Again! School Again! School Again!

  1. Ryan

    Hi Kelly, I just wanted to say that I’m really happy for you! Sorry I’ve been out of touch but I also just started school so like you, I’m super busy. Also definitely excited to be back though. I’m glad you’re studying something that you are interested in. Definitely take it all with a grain of salt. Sometimes learning about nutrition can make you really paranoid (as I’ve learned from countless hours of studying and reading and listening to a million different perspectives on this topic). While it is super interesting to learn about the science of how nutrition works, I think it is important to remember that there is still a lot that’s unknown about the specifics of what humans should eat and there are people who claim to thrive on so many different ways of eating (or fasting…or whatever). The bottom line is to do what works for you and just tune out what other people are doing. Easier said than done, I know.
    Anyway, I really hope you love your program and hope you’ll stop back in to post whenever you get a chance. ❤

  2. Through what school are you studying Holistic Nutrition?? I’ve been trying to find a good, affordable program…

    Also, re: the benefits of fasting: there’s been a lot of talk about that going around the “Paleo Diet” world right now (I guess it’s starting to go mainstream with Brad Pilon’s “Eat. Stop. Eat” and John Berardi’s fasting research), but it’s been generally theorized/pretty much proven that intermittent fasting, while good for many men, is NOT a good idea for women. Because of the differences in our hormones and the way our bodies store fat, intermittent fasting is generally detrimental for women. Even Berardi admits that his fasting experiments, while generally effective for men, only worked for less than 20% of the women he worked with. There’s a bunch of info about it here, if you’re interested (and/or want to tell your professors that it’s mostly nonsense…):
    http://www.paleoforwomen.com/shattering-the-myth-of-fasting-for-women-a-review-of-female-specific-responses-to-fasting-in-the-literature/

    (Sorry, nutrition gets me a bit fired up…)

    :D!

    • Hey Kaila,
      I love your passion . . . its sounds familiar. I’ll definitely get into it if and when it comes up. I’m at a school called “The Institute of Holistic Nutrition”. If you’re ever in Canada, you should check it out. Toronto’s pretty stellar 🙂

  3. I’m so proud of you Kelly! Keep at it. And I know you will keep loving it. Busy is good when it is productive busy and your busy is definitey productive! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

