Better Than Before

Sorry for the delay in posting. Thank you to everyone who expressed love and concern. It’s been a busy couple of weeks with a lot of changes, so I’ve been trying to honor the part of me that needs more rest.

The changes: I’ve mentioned in previous posts some lingering problems I’ve had as a result of my eating disorder. I decided it was time to try to fix it. Since “Western Medicine” had either told me I was fixed enough, or just gave me a band-aid solution to get me through the symptoms, I looked elsewhere. I saw a naturopathic doctor two weeks ago, and she told me that she could make things better, with a combination of herbs, acupuncture, and other therapies.

I know a lot of you are probably rolling your eyes right now, picturing witch doctors and medieval blood-letting, and that’s fine. It’s not for everyone. All I know is, as a child I had chronic throat infections, and after a remedy from a naturopath, I haven’t had strep throat again.

But I’m not here to argue the “east vs. west” point any more than I’ll argue religion with anyone. The point of this particular blog post is hope.

When she told me she knew the cause of my problems, and how to fix them, I felt hope for the first time in a long time. Apparently things that I thought were just character flaws are actually symptoms. But beyond that, every day this week I woke up with things wrong, hurting, tired, and instead of being miserable, I said, “It’s okay. Soon things will be better.”

Hope makes all the difference. It’s the thing that keeps you going when everything else goes to hell. Where do you find your hope?

7 Comments

Filed under Blatherings

7 responses to “Better Than Before

  1. nicky guadagni

    “Apparently things that I thought were just character flaws are actually symptoms.” My goodness. You’ve said a lot there.
    Nicky

  2. Andrea Ahlers

    Isn’t it the most awesome thing when you know you’ve been heard? Continued best wishes and much love for your journey. xo

  3. Ryan

    Wow, I am kind of in a similar situation, in terms of lingering health issues. It has been a huge struggle and just so frustrating. I hope that what you are doing now helps you feel better! If you are willing to share some details about what you are dealing with and what has/hasn’t helped, please feel free to e-mail me. I understand if it’s private and you don’t want to talk to a random stranger about it, but I thought I would give it a shot lol. Anyway, I really hope the herbs/acupuncture work for you.

    • Hi Ryan, thanks again for commenting and reading. I will ABSOLUTELY email you about this stuff. I figure those of us who are battling eating disorders are practically family anyway . . . lol.

Leave a Reply

