Consider Yourself

I had French toast today.

Just thought I’d get that out of the way. To those who know my eating habits, it’s pretty shocking, so calm down before you read the rest.

Inhale through the nose, exhale through the nose.

Feel better? Good.

How did it come to this? The eating of French toast?

It all started on Wednesday. I was in yoga class, balancing on my hands in Crow Pose. Had some good balance going on, and after holding it for a while my teacher said, “Ok, Kelly. Now jump it back into chaturanga.” (Non yogis: picture kicking your legs from a crouching handstand to a push-up position in one movement)

I looked at her like she was crazy.

Doesn’t she know I’m weak? I’m still too damaged physically to do anything like that. I’m not well enough.

I tried it, half just to prove to her how incapable I was.

You know what? I got about half way back. I tried again. I got one leg back into position. By this time, we were ready to move on with class.

Holy shit! I almost did it! I vowed to work on it at home until I could do it.

Sometimes in yoga class, the teacher has you set an “intention” for your practice. It can be something you want to get out of it, something you want to let go of, or whatever. I usually focus on sending love or healing to a friend. It’s easier for me to focus on something external.

Today, however, I decided to try to do the class without treating myself like a sick person. I’d still listen to my body, but I wouldn’t back off saying, “That’s good enough for someone like me.”

The teacher taught us to jump from downward dog, through our arms, and land sitting with our legs stretched out in front. It’s not as easy as it sounds. Normally I’d try once or twice then call it “Good enough”. I couldn’t get it in those two tries, so I had to try again, and again. By about my tenth try, I squeaked my legs through. I did it 3 or 4 more times, and did it successfully. I can “jump through to seated”!

I realized, while all this was going on, that I do the same thing with food. I don’t really push myself anymore. I mean, I can eat 3 meals a day, at home or at restaurants, but I still have a lot of food rules. Right now my eating borders on orthorexia (obsessive healthy eating . . . more on that in a later post), and it doesn’t really bother me. There isn’t much I want to eat that I can’t make a healthy version of. Why bother fixing it if it isn’t really a problem? Today, however, I found a reason why.

Friends were having lunch at Cora’s (a popular brunch place in Canada) and while the food is delicious, it’s not exactly a health food restaurant. I looked at the menu, and there were very few things I could eat, given my current food restrictions. Basically, the only thing I could eat without alteration would be poached eggs and fruit. Maybe toast. Not exactly a meal worth spending “dining out” money on. I screwed my courage to the sticking place and ordered French toast. My first “not 100% clean” meal since I started eating again. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t earth-shatteringly good.

But that wasn’t the point. I pushed myself, and I could do it. I did it not because I wanted French toast, but because I wanted to eat lunch with friends without being a freak.

Well, I’m still a bit of a freak, but only inasmuch as I’m proud to be a freak, and letting my freak flag fly.

5 Comments

Filed under Blatherings, Fighting Fear

5 responses to “Consider Yourself

  1. alifeunmeasured

    I just wanted to give you a virtual high five on the French Toast! It is so hard to make the decision to choose people/relationships/life over food/exercise rules. It seems like it would be so easy to everyone else, but it’s NOT and it’s awesome that you did it. Seriously!

    Also, on a random note, crow pose is probably one of my favorite yoga poses. That and Bird of Paradise. Mostly for the same reasons you discussed – I never in a gazillion years thought I would be able to do them. I am determined to one day do scorpion. I’m still working on arm balances, though, so it’ll have to wait until I get that down. 🙂

    • Thanks, Amanda! A virtual high five back at you, just for being awesome. I love crow pose, too. It’s strange to actually want to feel strong. Haven’t mastered Bird of Paradise yet (although I think it’s super beautiful) nor Scorpion . . . I’m cautious of anything that might put my osteo-weakened neck in jeopardy, but it might be time to just live . . . 🙂

  2. ACE

    go girl!! I’m still trying to get my jump through you’d think with my lanky arms I’d be all over that. HA! not yet! 😉

    • Thanks, ACE! Yeah, surprisingly, it’s all in the feet . . . the teacher broke it down for us step by step. Yoga date sometime? Me, you, your lanky arms, and a park, perhaps?

  3. Pingback: Lessons in Self-Care | A Life Unmeasured

Leave a Reply

