It’s been a while . . .

*****PLEASE READ MY FOLLOW UP TO THIS POST HERE*****


. . . but never fear: there’s enough idiocy in the world to keep me ranting for years.

Back in September, I wrote a post wherein I proclaimed “Maggie Goes On A Diet” to be the Worst. Book. Ever. Well, while watching daytime tv (again . . . this time Anderson Cooper’s new show), I discovered a book that gives it a run for its money.

Meet “My Beautiful Mommy

Basically, “Mommy” is getting plastic surgery, and this is a book to help her explain to her 4- to 7-year-old child what’s going to happen. Mommy explains, “You see, as I got older, my body stretched and I couldn’t fit into my clothes anymore. Dr. Michael is going to help fix that and make me feel better.”
So . . . as little 6-year-old Maggie (remember her from Maggie Goes On A Diet?) looks in the mirror, she sees her tummy stretching out as she grows, and her clothes don’t fit as she gets bigger, she’s going to know that something is wrong with her and needs “fixing”. Hopefully, Mommy is smart enough not to allow her child plastic surgery, but that just means that little Maggie is going to look for other ways to fix her body. Maybe there’s another book out there that can teach her how to diet . . . oh wait, there is.
Moms of the world, stop damaging your children in your endless quest for perfection. Health is one thing . . . vanity is another. Fix your issues before you pass them onto your children. You can either pay for your therapy now, or your child’s therapy ten years from now.
Here’s a video from ABC News explaining the book.
3 Comments

Filed under Rantings

3 responses to “It’s been a while . . .

  1. Hi Kelly,
    I am Paul Kramer, the auther of “Maggie Goes On A Diet” and now the alternate version called, “Maggie Eats Healthier”. While I do not think it was appropriate or fair of you to write and say bad things about “Maggie Goes On A Diet” especially since you have not read the book. I will excuse you for jumping to conclusions and judging a book by its cover and by hearsay and innuendo. Would you be willing to actually read this children’s book and then judge it again by its content(heart) and can you and would you
    be able to judge it without bias and give it the opportunity it deserves? I hope so. My email is below.

    • Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to message me. You are right. I did judge the book without reading it based on my experiences. I would love to read your alternate version, and give a more educated opinion. I commend you for taking the criticism this book has received and making changes. I also commend you for being courageous enough to address an issue that is so controversial. I will send you an email shortly, and hope we can discuss it further.

  2. Pingback: On Judging a Book By Its Cover | Be Anything But Quiet!

Leave a Reply

