Day 7 – With Her Nose Stuck in a Book

“4 Books”

My Favorite Book Series

Oh, asking me to choose four books would be like asking Liza Minnelli to chose four sequined garments . . . there are just too many to choose from! I think I’m going to pick four categories, and pick a favorite in each . . . or at least attempt to.

1. Favorite Inspirational: Fierce Medicine by Ana Forrest – Yes, Jenni Schaefer’s books have helped me through rough spots, and The Language of Letting Go is my daily read, but Fierce Medicine is such an incredible story. Part memoir, part yoga, part surviving life, anyone can get something wonderful out of this book. It will literally change your life.

2. Favorite Childhood story: Foo by Richard Thomas – This book has always been a special one for my dad and me. It’s the story of a girl named Jesse, who blows “foo” kisses to say goodnight to people far away. We still send foo kisses to this day.

3. Favorite Fiction: The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – Such a good book. A commentary on religion, women, family, and how much our thoughts determine our lives.

4. Favorite Non-Fiction: Unbearable Lightness by Portia deRossi – A beautiful, raw, honest memoir of what it means to struggle with an eating disorder, and that it’s possible to one day be free.

Again, I could have picked 20 more books in each of these categories. I’m always on the lookout for a new read. Toss your favorites in the comment box if you dare!

2 Comments

Filed under History Lessons

2 responses to “Day 7 – With Her Nose Stuck in a Book

  1. T-cat

    I dare 🙂
    The Bible (cliche, but true as I have chosen to let those words be my reason for being), LOTR (the other book that has made me who I am), The Problem of Pain (Dear Lemur, I believe that I gave you a copy and if you haven’t read it yet you need to asap!), The Hero and the Crown (because when I’m not in Middle Earth I’m usually in Damar)

  2. I do have a copy of The Problem of Pain, given to me by a lovely kitty, and I started to read it on the subway, but realized it required more attention than subway-tripping could afford it. I will make every effort to sit down and give it the concentration it deserves.

Leave a Reply

