Day 6 – I’m Baaaack.

Still a phlegmy, greasy, probably smelly (I wouldn’t know, my nose is clogged) mess, but can string enough words together to make semi-legible sentences, so I figured I’d blog.

“5 Foods”

The dregs of my quinoa stash . . .

So I could have gone so many different ways on this one . . . 5 fear foods, 5 favorite foods, 5 anorexic staple foods (are there 5? Diet soda, vegetables, egg whites, coffee . . . air?). But I decided to take a different route. So here are

“5 Foods That Are Awesome, That I Either Re-discovered or Discovered For The First Time While Working On Recovery”

Although I understand why they didn’t put that one on the 10-day-challenge list I “borrowed”.

1. Quinoa. Such a versatile little pseudocereal. Lots of protein, and can be eaten as part of a savory meal, in place of rice or something along those lines, or as a breakfast dish, like oatmeal.

2. Oatmeal. Dear world: Steel Cut Oatmeal is so much better than anything from a box. It has SO much protein, and it’s so much more fun making your own flavors than whatever Quaker comes up with.

3. Yogurt. There is so much more to yogurt than fat-free, sugar-free, 30 calorie yogurt-like substances. The first time I tried Greek yogurt, I fully cried. I had no clue food had that much flavor.

4. Hummus. (always best when pronounced as though you are of Middle-Eastern descent) Chick peas blew my mind when they first got added to my meal plan, but that was nothing until I tried Sunflower Kitchen‘s Roasted Garlic and Onion hummus. My reaction, had there been anyone around to hear it, may have been something along the lines of “HOLY FUCK! WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS AND WHY IS IT SO FUCKING AMAZING?” I had only just switched from my chick peas, lemon juice and garlic powder in a blender version to REAL hummus, and wasn’t aware I’d purchased a flavored variety. AMAZING.

5. Grilled Cheese Sandwiches. This was the most recent addition to my meal plan. Not gonna lie, kinda terrified me, but holy hell was it good. I know this, because it tasted good even though I have limited taste-ability, thanks to the stuffy nose. Note to dieters: Fat-free processed cheese slices on dry, toasted bread does not a grilled cheese make. The real kind, while shocking, is so amazing. I can’t promise it will be on my regular meal rotation (fear still edges things out sometimes), but it will definitely make regular guest appearances.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fighting Fear, History Lessons

Leave a Reply

